Art and Engineering

artvsengineering_sm

Engineering some art.

Is an architect an artist?  Is a building art?  Does art require an artist?

I’m a software developer by day and I firmly stand by my belief that art is not my job.  But in a strange way, the results of my non-art (henceforth known as nart), could very well be a work of art.

Most of the time, my mind is living in the world of logic and math. A nice solid place that always make sense and can be relied upon, even if the answers shift sometimes, it always makes sense why.  There’s no room in logic and math for being all willy-nilly.  You’d get the wrong answers!  Math and logic can be beautiful, and most definitely can produce amazing works of art, but that’s just a byproduct of the “right” answers.  It’s my belief that intention doesn’t necessarily have anything to do with whether or not a result is a work of art.

Say one day, the necessity arose for me to have a painting or sketch of a cat.  I’m not sure what’s going on that day, it’s apparently a strange future.  An artist might draw or paint a cat.  I would google it.  Obviously that’s more efficient, and I’ll most certainly get a better cat than if I attempted to make it myself.  Let’s pretend I could actually draw a cat.  I’d still google it.  It’s been done, drawing yet another cat would just be repeating a work that humanity should have already perfected!

I don’t see the value in drawing another sunset.  I’ve seen the sunset.  I could take a picture of the sunset. I could look at someone else’s much better picture of a sunset.  I will never be able to draw or paint a sunset that is as good as a picture.  It’s not that I don’t get it, it’s just not for me.  I would never be satisfied with my results, because the results would always remain imperfect, and i’m not sure I’m capable of letting that go.

And that is why I’m a nart.

I’ve been dabbling in this game lately, a fun little sandbox named Creativerse.  I’ve not played Minecraft in depth, but this game is something like that; Dig holes, find materials, build stuff.  This game is most certainly a creative outlet.  When I make a hole, is that a work of art?  What about a palace?  I believe somewhere between those extremes, there’s a line.

When I make a design, based on utility, but it happens to be fancy.. is it art?  I designed a teleporter station, designed around ease of use, maximizing use of space, while being well organized and compartmental.  I even used graph paper.

WP_20160129_10_53_09_Pro (2)
Actual graph paper.

I would say, it didn’t start as a work of art…  but it ended as one.

screenshot
Maybe I added a few shinies

Then there’s art.  The world of willy-nilly, where anything goes, as long as you say that’s what you meant to do.

Sarah says:

20160130_213306
art on graph paper

Willy-nilly he says.  You don’t even have to have done the thing on purpose, if you like it in the end. As Bob Ross said “happy little accidents”.  I need to do a paint along with one of his episodes sometime.  I’ve not done much with oil paints.

I don’t know what exactly makes a person think like an artist or an engineer (or any other number of ways to think, that’s just what we have in our house, so far).  I do know that I don’t think like an engineer, but I might have good input to one who was stuck on something.  

I’ve painted a few sunsets.  I did it to see if I could get the colors I wanted into the gradient I wanted.  I did better than I thought I could, which made me happy.  They were kind of cartoony, nothing realistic, but I was still pleased, and I had fun doing it.  I turned them into backgrounds for my cell phone.

20151128_235427


I also painted a picture of a cat, because my niece asked me to.  She had come across a Photoshopped picture of a cat surfing on a mouse, and when I asked her what she wanted me to draw for her for Christmas, that was what she said.  

12507134_10208144165592563_1519865290658889778_n

Also, I’ve seen Mike draw a very pretty daffodil ^_^. Even a nart can’t say no when his little girl asks him to draw her a flower.  And maybe I’ll really understand complicated science someday.

Author: Aszid

I have a beard.

Leave a Reply

